Archives annuelles : 2018

6 Décembre 2018

Websérie « Souder les rives » : visionnez la quatrième capsule

Websérie « Souder les rives » : visionnez la quatrième capsule

La quatrième et dernière capsule de notre websérie intitulée « Souder les rives » qui porte sur la fabrication des composants du nouveau pont Champlain est maintenant disponible. Découvrez le défi logistique de taille que représente la livraison des poutres caissons du projet du nouveau pont Champlain. VOIR LA CAPSULE  

Lire la suite

29 Novembre 2018

Cinq Prix d’excellence de l’ICCA pour Groupe Canam

Cinq Prix d’excellence de l’ICCA pour Groupe Canam

Lors du 20e Gala de la remise des Prix d’excellence de l’Institut Canadien de la construction en acier (ICCA) pour la région de Québec qui a eu lieu le 8 novembre dernier à Montréal, Canam-bâtiments et Canam-ponts ont reçu cinq prix, provenant de trois projets gagnants. Bâtiments Catégorie :  Projets institutionnels Le projet de la bibliothèque de Pierrefonds inclut un agrandissement ainsi que la rénovation complète de l’immeuble existant. Le bâtiment est très transparent et très…

Lire la suite

11 Octobre 2018

Canam-ponts fabriquera des bouées quatre saisons lumineuses pour la Garde côtière canadienne

Canam-ponts fabriquera des bouées quatre saisons lumineuses pour la Garde côtière canadienne

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le 5 octobre dernier l’octroi d’un contrat à Canam-ponts pour la fabrication de 184 bouées de navigation lumineuses quatre saisons qui seront installées dans le chenal maritime du fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre Québec et Montréal. Le contrat prévoit la possibilité d’acquérir jusqu’à 204 bouées supplémentaires. Ces nouvelles bouées plus modernes font partie du réseau de plus de 17 000 aides à la navigation de la Garde côtière situées dans l’ensemble du…

Lire la suite

29 Mai 2018

Un prix de l’ABCD pour Canam-ponts

Un prix de l’ABCD pour Canam-ponts

Le pont ferroviaire de Portageville, un projet auquel Canam-ponts a collaboré, a reçu le prix 2017-2018 Outstanding Long Span Bridge décerné par l’Association for Bridge Construction and Design –  Susquehanna Chapter (ABCD). Source : bridgesandtunnels.com Construit en 1875 et surplombant la rivière Genesee à Portageville dans l’État de New York, ce vieux pont ne répondait plus aux normes, rendant ainsi le passage des trains non sécuritaire. La première pièce fabriquée par Canam pesait 93 500 livres, mesurait 16 mètres…

Lire la suite

15 Mai 2018

« Souder les rives » : visionnez le 3e épisode de la websérie

« Souder les rives » : visionnez le 3e épisode de la websérie

Dans cette capsule du nouveau pont Champlain disponible sur le blogue de Canam-ponts, vous découvrirez les étapes de fabrication et d’assurance qualité au niveau des soudures ainsi que le processus d’application de la peinture sur les poutres caissons. VOIR LA CAPSULE  

Lire la suite

12 Mars 2018

Un prix du SSPC pour Canam-ponts

Un prix du SSPC pour Canam-ponts

Le pont John Greenleaf Whittier Memorial, un projet auquel Canam-ponts a collaboré, a reçu le prix Eric S. Kline du Steel Structures Painting Council (SSPC) le 15 janvier dernier lors d’un dîner au Ernest N. Morial Convention Center de La Nouvelle-Orléans en Louisiane. Ce prix est décerné aux réalisations exceptionnelles dans le domaine des revêtements industriels réalisés dans une installation fixe pour un projet comprenant des travaux de réparation ou pour une…

Lire la suite

7 Mars 2018

Second mandat de réfection du pont Pulaski Skyway pour Canam-ponts

Second mandat de réfection du pont Pulaski Skyway pour Canam-ponts

Canam-ponts a décroché un contrat dans le cadre d’une réfection majeure du pont Pulaski Skyway, un pont autoroute à quatre voies qui traverse Jersey City, Kearny et Newark au New Jersey, propriété du Département des Transports du New Jersey. Pour ce pont en arche, Canam fabriquera 61 poutres à âme pleine à tablier inférieur ainsi que 255 longerons totalisant 1 370 tonnes d’acier. Ces composants serviront au remplacement d’un tronçon d’autoroute existant et d’une nouvelle travée suspendue.…

Lire la suite

22 Janvier 2018

Suivi de projet : pont de l’avenue Commonwealth

Suivi de projet : pont de l’avenue Commonwealth

Le remplacement du pont de l’avenue Commonwealth au-dessus de l’autoroute I-90 à Boston au Massachusetts se poursuit. Pour sa part, Canam a complété 95 % de la fabrication de 1 950 tonnes de composants d’acier pour ce projet dans son usine située à Claremont au New Hampshire. Les composants sont également peints et métallisés dans cette même usine. La construction de ce pont d’étagement, d’une longueur de 137 mètres (450 pieds), est réalisée…

Lire la suite

16 Janvier 2018

Une structure de pont en forme d’ailes d’avion

Une structure de pont en forme d’ailes d’avion

Le projet de reconstruction de l’échangeur Turcot à Montréal au Québec comporte plusieurs structures vétustes qui seront remplacées. Parmi celles-ci, le pont d’étagement de la rue Saint-Jacques qui surplombe l’autoroute Décarie (autoroute 15) pour lequel 2 100 tonnes de composants d’acier sont présentement en fabrication dans l’usine de Canam située à Québec au Québec. La forme de la structure du pont rappelle celle des ailes d’un avion en raison des caissons centraux…

Lire la suite

To top

Annual Archives: 2018

December 6, 2018

“Connecting the Shorelines” Webseries: View the Fourth Video Clip

“Connecting the Shorelines” Webseries: View the Fourth Video Clip

The fourth and last video clip from our webseries – “Connecting the Shorelines” – is now available. This webseries focuses on the fabrication of the new Champlain Bridge components. Discover the major logistical challenge of delivering the box girders for the new Champlain Bridge project. VIEW THE VIDEO CLIP  

Read more

November 29, 2018

Five CISC Awards of Excellence for Canam Group

Five CISC Awards of Excellence for Canam Group

At the 20th Gala of the Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC) Awards of Excellence for the Quebec Region held on November 8 in Montreal, Canam-Buildings and Canam-Bridges received five awards for three winning projects. Buildings Category: Institutional projects The Pierrefonds Library project includes an expansion and complete renovation of the existing building. This green building has clear walls with different sections designed to foster meetings while the stairs suspended on the central atria invite…

Read more

October 11, 2018

Canam-Bridges will Fabricate Four-season Lighted Navigation Buoys for the Canadian Coast Guard

Canam-Bridges will Fabricate Four-season Lighted Navigation Buoys for the Canadian Coast Guard

On October 5, the Government of Canada announced the award of a contract to Canam-Bridges to manufacture 184 four-season lighted navigation buoys to be deployed in the St. Lawrence River shipping channel, between Québec and Montréal. The contract includes options to acquire up to 204 additional buoys. These new modernized buoys are part of the Coast Guard’s network of over 17,000 aids to navigation located across the country, such as lighthouses and beacons, helping to maintain…

Read more

May 29, 2018

An Award from the ABCD for Canam-Bridges

An Award from the ABCD for Canam-Bridges

The Portageville Railway Bridge, a project on which Canam-Bridges collaborated, received the 2017-2018 Outstanding Long Span Bridge Award from the Association for Bridge Construction and Design – Susquehanna Chapter (ABCD). Source: bridgesandtunnels.com Built in 1875 and spanning over the Genesee River in Portageville, New York, this old bridge no longer met the standards, making the rail traffic unsafe. The first piece fabricated by Canam weighed 93,500 pounds, measured 53 feet, 6 inches (16 metres) in length and, with the…

Read more

May 15, 2018

“Connecting the Shorelines” : 3rd Webseries’ Episode Available

“Connecting the Shorelines” : 3rd Webseries’ Episode Available

In this new Champlain Bridge video on the Canam-Bridges blog, you will be shown the manufacturing process and quality insurance steps regarding welds as well as the paint application process on the box girders.  

Read more

March 12, 2018

SSPC award for Canam-Bridges

SSPC award for Canam-Bridges

The John Greenleaf Whittier Memorial Bridge, a project in collaboration with Canam-Bridges, received the Steel Structures Painting Council (SSPC) Eric S. Kline Award on January 15 during a lunch at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, LA. This prize is given in recognition of outstanding achievement in industrial coatings performed in a fixed shop facility. The project can be either repair work or new construction. In 2016, the old

Read more

March 7, 2018

Second Pulaski Skyway Bridge rehabilitation mandate for Canam-Bridges

Second Pulaski Skyway Bridge rehabilitation mandate for Canam-Bridges

Canam-Bridges was granted the contract for a major upgrade to the Pulaski Skyway Bridge, a four-lane highway bridge running through Jersey City, Kearny and Newark, (NJ), owned by the New Jersey Department of Transportation. For this arch bridge, Canam will manufacture 61 through plate girders and 255 stringers totaling 1,370 tons of steel. These components will be used to replace an existing section of the highway and a new suspended span. Manufacturing will begin in February 2018…

Read more

January 22, 2018

Project Follow-up: Commonwealth Avenue Bridge

Project Follow-up: Commonwealth Avenue Bridge

The replacement of the Commonwealth Avenue Bridge over I-90 in Boston, Massachusetts continues. For its part, Canam completed 95% of the fabrication of 1,950 tons of steel components for this project at its plant in Claremont, New Hampshire. The components are also painted and metallized in this same plant. The construction of this 450-foot. (137-metre) long overpass is done in design-build mode. Deliveries started in spring 2017 and will be completed in the…

Read more

January 16, 2018

A Bridge Structure Shaped as Airplane Wings

A Bridge Structure Shaped as Airplane Wings

The Turcot Interchange Reconstruction Project in Montreal, Quebec involves replacing several run-down structures. New structures include the Saint-Jacques Street overpass that crosses the Décarie Expressway (Autoroute 15), for which 2,100 tons of steel components are currently being fabricated at Canam’s plant in Quebec City, Quebec. The shape of the bridge’s structure recalls airplane wings due to the wings on either side of the central girders. The 394-foot (120-metre) long cable-stayed bridge with a steel…

Read more

To top